Frequently Asked Questions:
Why Should I Take the Class from ConcealedCarry.com?
Do I have to be a state resident to Apply?
No, but you must have your state’s permit before applying for Missouri’s. The class is good for one year after it is taken.
Do I have to be a US Citizen to apply?
No, but you must be able to show legal residence for both the class and permit and fill out an additional state required form.
What is the Application Fee for the state permit?
Varies by county, normally $60-$65
Here is what the Attorney General says on their web site:
The fee for the original license is $20.00*. The renewal fee is $15.00*.
* Missouri Code provides that the sheriff may collect any additional fees necessary to cover the cost of processing fingerprints lawfully required by any state or federal agency or department, and the cost of materials for the license lawfully required by any state agency or department, which costs shall be paid to the state.
What is the Renewal Fee?
Varies by county.
How long does it take to get the permit after my application has been submitted?
Depends on the county, normally 6 weeks to 3 months.
What is the complete process to apply for the permit?
Varies by county, but there is a state form that needs to be filled out and a copy of the training certificate we provide is a state form. Once your fingerprints are reviewed by the FBI the office will call you in for your photo and issue a temporary permit, then mail them the final – but that can vary by county.
Are Permit Holders Required to Notify Law Enforcement When Confronted?
Can Private Property Owners Prohibit Firearms on Their Property?
How long is the class?
Do I have to shoot a firearm for this class?
Yes, bring 100 rounds and law requires you shoot 99.
How Often Do I Have to Renew My Permit?
How Do I apply for the permit after I complete the course?
Fill out the application and take it into the county driver’s license office. They will finger print you and take your picture digitally (the picture could be on the second visit after the fingerprint review) – there is only one county we know of that takes hard copy fingerprints and all require a digital picture taken in the state system. Those items are included in the fee charged by the county.
Do Ex-Military Have to Take a Class?
To apply for the enhanced permit, yes.
Are there Discounts for Seniors or Veterans?
No, our class is already deeply discounted compared to others.
Can I Take my Concealed Carry Class Online?
What is Your Refund Policy? What If I Can’t Attend the Class I Signed Up For?
We will refund students when unable to attend a class they have prepaid for. We ask for prepayment only to have a reliable count of how many students are coming. This has become necessary because we fill most of our classes to capacity. Our full refund policy can be see here.
With a MissouriCCW what states may I carry in?
Please check the map on the home page of this website
Will my or can my neighbors, friends, employer find out I have a CCW?
No, Missouri’s CCW is NOT PUBLIC INFORMATION.
Must I have a firearm to take this class?
We recommend bringing your own firearm to complete the live fire portion of the class. If you do not have your own firearm you can probably borrow one from the instructor but arrangements need to be made in advance and an additional cost may be incurred.
Must I register my firearm when I receive my permit?
No, Firearms are not registered in Missouri.
What forms of payment will Missouri accept?
Payment methods will vary by county but money orders and cashiers checks are accepted everywhere.
What forms of payment will ConcealedCarry.com accept for the course?
Cash, check, or credit card (Visa, or MasterCard). We prefer if you prepay online but should you feel uncomfortable you can call us to make other arrangements. PHONE%%
If I have a Concealed Weapons Permit do I still have to get a background check to buy a firearm?
Yes. At this time, Missouri Concealed Weapon permits do not meet all the criteria to qualify for an exemption to the background check. That means even if you have a Missouri Concealed Weapon permit you must have a new background check every time you purchase a firearm. Out of state Concealed Weapons permit holders also need a background check to purchase a firearm in Missouri